Skip to main content

What can clients see and do in Gather?

Understand what clients can view, comment on, approve, and access in Gather.

Written by Scottie Elliott

Clients have limited access in Gather. They can view the projects you invite them to, and you can control which project details are visible to them.

Clients cannot add new products, fixtures, or items to a project. They also cannot edit item details. Clients can leave comments and mark items as approved or rejected, depending on your project settings.

What clients can do

Clients can:

  • View projects they have been invited to.

  • View the item information you choose to share.

  • Leave comments.

  • Mark items as approved or rejected, if enabled.

  • View files or project details that have been made visible to them.

What clients cannot do

Clients cannot:

  • Add new products, fixtures, or items.

  • Edit item details.

  • Manage schedules, types, or custom fields.

  • Change project settings.

  • See hidden pricing, supplier, markup, discount, or item information unless you choose to show it.

How to control what clients see

Open the project and go to the project settings. In the Clients tab, you can choose which information is visible to clients.

Depending on your settings, you can show or hide details such as:

  • Item pricing.

  • Item discounts.

  • Item markup.

  • Supplier information.

  • Manufacturer information.

  • Item URLs.

  • Item statuses.

  • Disliked items.

For step-by-step instructions on changing these settings, see Client Settings.

Pricing visibility

Client pricing visibility is controlled per project. You can decide whether clients see pricing and which pricing details are visible.

Client pricing visibility does not differ by individual client within the same project. If multiple clients are invited to the same project, they share the same project-level client visibility settings.

For detailed pricing examples, see Pricing: Client View.

File visibility

Files can be made visible or hidden from clients from the Files tab using the eye icon.

The eye icon only appears after at least one client has been invited to the project.

Did this answer your question?